The new Mexican restaurant a few miles away sent us a coupon.  Beer, tacos and burrito special.  Everything looked delicious until we got to the cashier and our beer.  I inquired as to what they had on tap.  The cashier pointed to the taps and most had IPA or pale ale on them.  One tap did not say IPA and the name had an umlaut over the u so I took a chance.  It turned out to be my style, light and mellow without that bitter taste.

In the craft beer world, IPA is rocking it.  At the local Oktoberfest, at least half of the beers are IPA.  This is bad news for me.  A German beer and dark beer lover, give me a Hefeweizen or a porter.  I never met an IPA I like.

Dark beer didn’t survive the journey to India and traditional Indian beer didn’t mesh with British tastes.  Not to mention, rice beer attracts elephants who make really poor drinking buddies.  The British invented IPA, India Pale Ale,  to avoid missing their beer when out of town. Hopping a beer up on hops preserves it on long voyages to India, turns out.

According to beer connoisseurs, IPA hops up the taste of beer.  For them flavor and taste are separate considerations for good beer.  I fail to appreciate how making a beverage not sweet in the first place more bitter produces more taste.  I favor another approach to taste.

I vote for old, more traditional ingredients.  For me, I buy that beer brewed with yarrow and sage or cinnamon and clove.  Indulge in the excitement of a 3000 year old beer recipe from ancient Egypt.  Tag me as a beer explorer, a re-inventor, not into recent beer inventions, like within the last 300 years.

 

 

 

 

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

2 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    i’m kind of an unadventurous beer drinker – every time i step out and try something, darker, heavier, with the lure of ‘clothesline malt-infused essence of walnut shell flavor’ i am let down once again and yearn for my lighter, simpler beers.

    • kriskkaria says:

      I’ve experienced that, too. I’m drawn to the chocolate coffee infused flavor promise which doesn’t always live up to expectations. I like the lighter beers in summer, but never anything with IPA in the name. Light is fine, bitter is not. Pumpkin spice is just fine, too.

Leave a Reply

