Wild Rice Soup with Butternut Squash

Wild Rice Soup with Butternut Squash

Katie my coworker said she thought of me when she smelled KFC yesterday morning as she loaded her 3 year old into the car.  I’m one of those people who eat lunch for breakfast and sometimes breakfast for lunch.  I haven’t eaten cereal since I was a kid for breakfast.   I will admit to eating cookies and the occasional pastry for breakfast, but that falls into the lunch for breakfast category.  I used to eat fruit for breakfast but as I age I want hot food in the morning.  I hate hot cereal so I heat up left over’s from dinner the night before;like Wild Rice Chicken Soup with Butternut Squash.  Katie finds my preference for flounder stuffed with crab as a breakfast dish disgusting.  She eats cereal for breakfast.

I don’t think cereal is the typical breakfast food around the world, so I asked around.  Angie from Thailand says she eats noodles for breakfast.  I searched the Internet for standard breakfast fare throughout history.  According to current historical records, breakfast started around 10,000 years ago and consisted of grainy porridge.   Okay, that doesn’t sound appetizing to me, but seems hot cereal’s been around for a really long time.    In the middle ages, they added beer alongside the grainy porridge.  That filled you up and gave you a buzz to get through the day.   The word breakfast became official in 1463.

Office work in the early 1800’s ushered in the English breakfast, which still started with porridge.   Really, what is it about that stuff?  But then the good stuff followed, toast and eggs with bacon or fish.  They ate fish as part of breakfast in the 1800’s so it’s not so weird as Katie thinks.  Those Victorians did take things a bit too far when the Martha Stewart of her day, Isabella Beeton, suggested cold meat, game pies, broiled mackerel, sausages, bacon and eggs, muffins, toast, marmalade, coffee and tea as the everyday breakfast buffet.  I don’t know how you’d haul yourself out the house after that breakfast, I’m sure I couldn’t.  It caused a backlash against such extravagance and claims that meat breakfasts led to ill health.  So, John Kellogg and C.W. Post invented cereal which caught on big time and is the standard breakfast today for those who take time to eat it.  Just don’t ask me to eat cereal in the morning.  As far as breakfast goes, I’m just a Victorian at heart. Give me one of those game pies and some bacon.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

2 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    i’m with you on this. not a huge fan of our usual breakfast food. i’m all in for leftover chinese or pizza.

Leave a Reply

