Its laundry day.  Jack assists me in changing the bed sheets and I toss them down the laundry chute.  Upon arrival in the basement laundry room, I discover the enormous wicker laundry basket empty.  Its not unusual for the sheets to hang up in the chute but I paid close attention to not bunching them up.  They usually flow smoothly down the chute that way.  Tromping back up 2 flights of stairs, I grab the broom and shove the handle down the chute to dislodge the sheets.  The next trip down 2 flights finds only the pillow cases in the wicker basket, not the sheets.

This problem calls for a flashlight.  I shine the light down the chute to discover the sheets stuck fast at the corner.  I pick up the broom and shove the handle down farther into the chute.  I hear the whooshing sound of the sheets sliding all the way down.  Just to be sure, I shine the light into the chute.  But what is this?  Looks like a piece of cloth hanging at the corner.  I poke it with the handle but it refuses to dislodge.

I travel 1 flight of stairs down to the kitchen where chute access is possible and shine the light up.

The Maw is open

The Maw is open

At least one piece of clothing hangs on the edge where the chute straightens out.  I stick my hand up to my shoulder up the chute and gently grab the clothing.  Turns out its two of Jack’s sleeveless T shirts which he has not missed.  This proves he has too many of those T’s.  Sticking my head in the chute reveals my blue bra.  Now that I would miss.  More gentle tugging and the chute gives up all its victims.

This leaves me with only one known victim of our laundry system, a pink wash cloth.  Its still missing and presumed dead.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

4 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    i love this. you need a cold case unit to investigate the pink washcloth case perhaps. maybe you can write a fitness book about your laundry chute clearing workout method.

  2. Ankur Mithal says:

    Life can be as boring or as interesting as we make it out to be. Some may look at this as a boring chore. For others, it could be laden with excitement, mystery and action 🙂

Leave a Reply

