I’m lucky.  The spot I need to be at has a tree.  Normally its not this hot, in the upper 80’s, in June in Seattle.  My tan resembles dirt (if I get one) or more likely I burn and peel and stay lily white.

I plunk down my umbrella as I won’t need it and its a pain to carry around.  I adjust my gown with the gold trim, and red cape.  I sit my horned hat on my head and I’m ready to teach a song to the accountants.  No matter I have never taught a song to a group before, much less accountants, I’m still rearing to go.  Must be the adrenaline rush.

I’m a “plant” in a team building game.   No teams are in sight.  While waiting, I people watch in the busy park and go over the song in my mind. And take a selfie which I don’t do often as you can tell.

goddess

People stare at me with curiosity but keep on walking.  A dog comes by and says hello.  His master follows behind and hesitates.  No, he decides he’s not going to ask me why but he’d like to.

I see my first team of accountants in the distance, a gaggle of students all wearing the same T-shirt.  One of them spots me.  I do stand out, a Valkyrie under a tree.   To my surprise, they pick up the tune to Dream a Little Dream quickly, the words not so quickly.   One looks up the lyrics on her phone and we’re off until we can’t find a passerby who wants to be serenaded. After a minute or two, we corral someone and the team brings it off, even adding hand gestures.  I’m feeling flush since it turns out I chose an easy tune to learn.

While waiting for the next team, a woman approaches me and asks why I’m dressed like that.  I respond I’m part of a team building exercise, a Nordic goddess down from Valhalla searching for song birds.  The teams of accountants don’t qualify as song birds but they’re coming lots closer than I thought.

She asks to take my picture and I smile for the camera.  She is the only person to ask out of the hundreds who walk by.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

4 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    you would do a norseman proud. one of my highlights of this great post is that only one person asked you about what you were doing. and another one, that they were a gaggle of accountants.

  2. mihrank says:

    wonderful – creative

Leave a Reply

