Right before the musical opened last fall, an author contacted me about narrating her book, Take a Load Off, Mona Jamborski.  As if I didn’t have enough to think about with tackling Locusta, Good Witch of the North in The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, the original musical.  I persevered and I auditioned to narrate.

Joanna, the author, loved my audition and so I began the journey of narrating all 6 hours and 17 minutes of the book. It took close to 2 months and most of that was editing.   Mona is witty, artistic, weighs 528 lbs and I love telling her story.  I didn’t particularly love editing for hours and hours, like about 18 of them.

This funny and uplifting story is now available on Amazon, Audible and iTunes.  Here is the link, Audio Book – Take a Load Off, Mona Jamborski.   A sample is available to check it out.  You’ll have to download the entire audio book to hear my Speedy Gonzalez impression.  I watched the cartoon on YouTube before I narrated that chapter to get the voice right.  Oh, that cartoon brought back memories.  If you’re not into audio books, I highly recommend the print version, also available on Amazon.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

2 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    how cool! what a character – you never know where life will take you )

Leave a Reply

