I have good news.  We corralled a couple more men for the ensemble and numerous supporting roles in the musical.  The bad news is we lost a few women.  Well, actually teenagers who showed once or twice and not again.

I sat around last night because “Todd” wanted us all there at 6pm for dance rehearsal.  Except I’m not in the cyclone dance because I’m in the scene as Aunt Em running for the cellar.  I don’t even know who “Todd” is as the production team never formally introduced themselves.  We have too many cooks for the broth.

I worked to memorize my Aunt Em dialogue, looked up the bus schedule for my dentist trip this morning and watched the men pose majestically in the dance.  Not my words.  Pose majestically came from the tenor with the Real Men Sing t-shirt on.  I like that shirt and his attitude.

We finally read the Aunt Em and Dorothy scene after about 1.5 hours.  Uncle Henry wasn’t there because he was stuck in a freezer at the film shoot which ran over time.   Actors lives are a bit bizarre.  The music director provided some interlude music to our scene.  One of my lines includes the words, “you little fuzzy black eyed ball of fur”.  After I say the line, the music director runs over to me, gets in my face, repeats the sentence and says “say it like you mean it”.  I smile and think, ” But I’m being facetious.”  The director asks her what’s she doing and she says “I’m helping Kris with her lines.”.  The director calmly explains I’m not being mean to Toto in this little scene.   The music director says, “Oh” and hurries back to the piano.

The plan is for Toto to be a real dog but I don’t think the dog is well trained.  Being facetious with a real dog is likely to get me growled at, licked or jumped on. This is going to be interesting.

 

 

The Witch Arrives Soon

The Witch Arrives Soon

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

3 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    you’re on your way. follow the yellow brick road.

  2. skinnyuz2b says:

    Kris, I hope you do a pod cast later with some of your aunt Em dialog. I wonder if most of the actors who left were singles checking out the other singles.

  3. kriskkaria says:

    I have never met so many “quitters” in my acting life.

Leave a Reply

