I drive 30 minutes for my callback audition for the composer only to discover he’s not available due to an emergency.  The director arrives 15 minutes later but he doesn’t play the piano.  So, there  is no one to put me through my paces.  Instead, the director goes over the dialogue and shows me some of the music.   I explain I’m going out of town and won’t be available for a week and we part ways.  The director writes me an email a few days later offering me the roles, I say yes and wonder how I’m going to keep my voice over business, my blog and my podcast going during the rehearsal process.  I must be suicidal.

The director contacts me in early August to schedule a meeting with the musical director to put me through my paces with the music.  When I arrive, I discover the musical director has car trouble and cannot join us.  The director and I go over the Aunt Emily dialogue.  He hands me the music and says “look it over”.  I sit down at the piano and plunk out the notes along with the key chords.  We continue to look over the music, some of it hand written with a reggae beat notated.   I can’t even read what half the notes are so that’s a bust.  Then, he hands me “recit” which is sung dialogue (for those who have never been to an opera).  But, its just the words, no music.  The director says “just try it, make something up”.  Wow!  I have not done musical improv in years.  Its the double jeopardy of improv, make up whatever notes sound appropriate and stay in the vicinity of the key you’re going to eventually.  He likes it and asks me to do it again so he can play it for the arranger.     He says maybe I can change it up from show to show.  Holy crap, double jeopardy every show!

Rehearsals start this week.    Oh boy, the adventure begins in earnest.

The Witch Arrives Soon

The Witch Arrives Soon

 

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

4 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    oh, wow, get on your broom and jump on in!! at least with nothing set in stone, whatever you do will be right )

  2. skinnyuz2b says:

    If anyone can do it, you can, Kris! These people sound like laid back hippies!

Leave a Reply

