I knew it.  I wanted to leave at 6:30pm.  I began hooking this shirt together 15 minutes ago and it’s now 6:25pm.  Determined, I slide the tiny little eye into the hook and try to pull it on.  My head won’t go through and I discover I forgot two links.

My favorite party shirt for spring and summer needed a wash over a year ago so it got clean.     Unfortunately, it’s a bitch to put back together so I didn’t.    Tonight, I’m determined to wear this darned shirt to the party.

Hooking the two links into line takes another 5 minutes.  Carefully aligning the shirt, I pull it over my head.  Something is not right.  The one sleeve droops and the bottom is turned inside out or outside in.  I truly suck at this puzzle but the shirt is not winning this battle.  It’s time to call for reinforcements.  “Jack!  Jack!  Come upstairs!”  I yell.   Jack looks at my dilemma, fools with it a bit and asks me to remove the shirt.  “How does it work” he asks.  It’s easy to explain the contraption without me in it.   I hold it up, explaining the configuration.   “Okay” Jack says and he coaxes it into correct alignment.  He holds the shirt in position while I wiggle into it.  I’m dressed and we’re ready to go.

By this time I’m really ready for the wine tasting we’re heading out into the pouring rain for.  I really hate it when I buy clothing I love but impractical to wear.   How about you?

Image

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

8 responses »

  1. the author says:

    LOVE this top! Hope you had a great time wearing it. (hmmm. It would look great on ME … lol)

  2. ksbeth says:

    so funny. there is no way i would ever be able to get that on and wear it correctly. i even have trouble putting on and wearing a tshirt right side out. hilarious post )

  3. skinnyuz2b says:

    Kris, I once had a weird dress that became an ongoing puzzle, so I can identify with your dilemma.

Leave a Reply

