I need to find out when those cables will arrive.

Ah, the website has online chat so I click on the button.  Coreen appears in the name box and she types “How may I help you?”  I type “Where are my cables” and Gary types “Your PO says you don’t need them till April”.  Wait…Gary types, what happened to Coreen?  I know Gary from emails so we madly type a few more sentences and the deal is done.

The name box at the right still says Coreen, but the chat box says Gary is typing.    Live chat is a lie now too, just like the websites with the smiling girl with the headset.  She says “Call me to order your PC cable now at a special price”.  The picture says she looks like this.

How Can I Help You?

How Can I Help You?

In actuality, she looks like this.

You Want What?

You Want What?

Beware of who you chat with now.  The name in the name box may be Bettina, but you will actually be chatting with Bert.

Bert

Bert

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

4 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    ah, so true. thanks for uncovering the real story! and how lucky you got those undercover shots )

  2. skinnyuz2b says:

    So true. I have asked some of my phone un-helpers if XWZ is the same name their mother calls them by. The usual reaction to this query is ‘huh?’

Leave a Reply

