We adopted two puppies, Australian cattle dogs, and my favorite breed.  Jack’s idea to get two, not mine.  JJ and Benny are brothers now 3 years old.

Jack loves to walk them but at first isn’t always good at handling both together.  While walking the boys as puppies at 6 months of age, he scooped up a really soft pile dropped by JJ into a plastic bag.  A further way along the walk, JJ and Benny lunged sniffing in opposite directions catching the bag of shit in between their leashes.  It exploded scattering puppy shit over the 3 of them.  Everyone got a bath that night.

Thanksgiving with friends, who are dog lovers too, brought out more stories of poo.   Our JJ slurped up a frozen road apple (translation: horse shit) while out for a walk earlier.  Our friends also have horses and their dogs are famous for loving road apples.  But their Rhodesian Ridgebacks are very discerning in their horse shit preference.  Their Ridgebacks only like the shit produced by two of their 4 horses and then only certain bits.

My mother moaned about her dog, Kandi, destroying her horse’s tail by chomping on it and pulling.  Tiffy puts up with the dog hanging on her tail, she never kicks at Kandi.  Jack asked if Tabasco sauce might work.  Our friends indicated their Ridgebacks loved the taste of Tabasco and bitter apple.  Hmm, well, guess there is no accounting for some dogs’ tastes.   I don’t like Tabasco.  JJ isn’t into spicy but Benny doesn’t seem to mind.  So, I don’t think using it on our backyard shit will work.  I still have conversations like this with JJ and Benny.

Image

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

8 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    on each buffet line, there is something to please even the most discerning of tastes )

  2. skinnyuz2b says:

    I love the term ‘road apples’, and the fact that your dogs are picky about the source of the apples is priceless. Good luck with your two new babies.
    If you’re into poop stories right now, check out my post ‘Bye, Bye Birdie’. And thanks for enjoying my bathroom humor post.

    • kriskkaria says:

      Road apples is one of favorite horse related terms. Bye Bye Birdie is hilarious, I laughed out loud. I’ve been spewed on a few times. Can I narrate it for my podcast?

      • skinnyuz2b says:

        Kriskkaria, I give you permission to narrate any of my posts you wish to. It is a very high compliment that I appreciate.

      • kriskkaria says:

        Thanks for permission to narrate. I will let you know when its up on my podcast. It might be a few weeks, as I’m lining up several blogs for October. I’m currently narrating a 2 books series which needs completion by Oct. 31.

Leave a Reply

