Welcome to Does This Happen to you where we explore the more bizarre and unusual elements of getting through your day.  I always appreciate your comments.  I’d love to hear stories about your day.

After being left eating the dust of the BMW on the east side of the mountain pass, I’m bombing along the winding roadway at the speed limit.  Its July 4, JJ and Benny, our dogs, are riding quietly in the back seat and I’m making good time.

Suddenly a minivan’s nose sits in my rearview mirror.  Then, we hit a curve and it’s gone.  The road straightens and the nose is back, riding my Audi’s ass.  The next curve, it’s gone again.  Ah, the perils of this particular pass, it’s the “I don’t do curves, but I can do 70 on the straight away” driver.  It’s one notch down from the headlight flasher in my book.

Image

And speaking of headlight flashers, my friend Tracey met a car charades artist on the road this week.  Here is her story.

“I had a freeway encounter with a crazy woman yesterday. We were sitting in 5-mile-an-hour traffic and I think she thought I was on my phone, which I wasn’t.  She pulled up beside me, honked and waved furiously, clearly yelling something. So, I changed lanes to be behind her. After a bit, she yelled and motioned – only this time I got what she was saying, “Keep your eyes on the f-ing road!”
Just a thought: How would she know whether or not my eyes were on the road if HER eyes were on the road?  I so wanted to take a picture with my cell phone, but thought that might push her over the edge.”

Tracey is good at charades.  I’d never have figured it out.   Have you played car charades lately with another driver?

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

12 responses »

  1. Kate Lester says:

    Oh, yeah.
    I’m following a school bus full of laughing, singing students. The bus stops at a railroad crossing and the driver turns on the yellow flashing lights so that he can open the door and check the crossing before driving onto the tracks.
    I’m waiting patiently but the dude in the BMW behind me is having none of this. He’s blaring his horn and shaking his fist at me, which I try to ignore.
    The bus starts up slowly and signals to make a right turn while the bus is still on the tracks. I elect not to (1) pass a stopped school bus (2) with lights flashing (3) on a railroad tracks. (What can i say? there’s at least 3 traffic laws involved in that scenario.)
    Angry BMW dude is having none of this. He passes both me and the school bus and races off down the road.
    After the bus turns, I drive straight through the intersection. I stop at the next red light and who should be next to me in the left turn lane but Angry BMW guy.
    He actually blares his horn and makes the universal obscene hand gesture at me.
    No charades needed for that little episode.

  2. kriskkaria says:

    Thanks for the story. What an ass! I’ve received the finger before, I have a post about that about a month back.

  3. ksbeth says:

    had a car with two hot guys following my girlfriend and i as we drove to a play downtown. we thought we were looking so hot, they could not resist us, and as they drove next to us, they were saying something. i rolled down my window and they said, ‘your belt is dragging in the slush!’ it seems the long belt from my raincoat, was closed in the door and had been outside of the car for miles. i smiled and rolled up my window, our egos put back in check )

  4. Kate Lester says:

    I’ve just been nominated for two awards and I’m now I’m nominating you. (Sort of like a chain letter, but in a good way.)
    http://iwork4ajerk.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/ive-been-awarded/

  5. skinnyuz2b says:

    I was the second car at a red light, behind a sports car with a woman on a cell phone (illegal in NY). She didn’t notice the light changed to green, so after a few seconds I did a quick beep to alert her. She gave me the finger in her review mirror, and sat through the light. Not satisfied, she sat through the next light, too. Needless to say, all the other cars behind me were beeping like crazy.

Leave a Reply

