Words of warning, these two do not go together, email and cats.  It’s unwise to check your email while walking your dogs.

JJ and Benny, our blue heeler mutts, and I always take a long stroll on Saturday mornings.

This morning we headed off down the hill.  I turned on my smart phone, getting distracted by my email.  JJ came to attention and I looked up.  A gray tabby cat sat quietly on the house window sill.  Benny snapped to attention, finally noticing the cat, so I decided a stop, sit and stay are in order.  Benny especially goes nuts over cats, so I’m practicing a little gentle discipline to calm the dogs around cats.

JJ and Benny sat, eyes glued on the cat.  I read my email.  Then, I looked up.  The cat jumped off the window sill and strolled languidly toward us.  I didn’t believe this cat’s bravado.  I thought for sure the cat would turn away but no, the cat strolled right up to the boys.  Overwhelmed by a cat in their face, JJ and Benny jumped forward, forgetting all about sit and stay, dragging me across the lawn after the cat. I screamed no, digging my heels in while struggling to dump my phone in my pack.  The cat hissed and spat but the boys remained undeterred.  I grabbed the leash with two hands and they screeched to a halt. The cat raced away around the house.

Thanks to my email and that darned cat, I’m back at square one with the boys and cats.

Image

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

2 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    i love that you were involved in a catfight – that cat had some balls!

Leave a Reply

