I groan.  I recognize that shape from afar.  It’s a Westfalia and I’m coming up on it fast.  The lane to my left is full.  No chance to change lanes now.  But, wait, I’m not catching up as fast as I thought.  Could the Westfalia actually be doing 60mph?  Oh wait, it’s a Eurovan.

All the Westfalias I get stuck behind max out at 50-55mph.  I just thought Westfalias incapable of 60mph.   Turns out they generally are.  Trolling Internet stories about the Westfalias turns up their owners whom are camping and adventure fanatics.  They live in their van.  Not the spa and resort type at all.  And they’re not in a hurry to get anywhere unless it’s up a mountain road to go hiking.   And their Westfalia gets them there, quick enough for them and dependably.

Eurovans are different.  Their owners are in a hurry, like the guy who roared by me and the boys the other day.   We heard it coming ½ a mile away.  A Eurovan with over sized wheels, blasting up the hill, like a freak of nature.

To be safe, when you encounter this van shape on the freeway, just change lanes as quickly as possible.  It might be a Westfalia.

Image

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

5 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    thanks for the alert, and i will be sure to have my family practice ‘westfalia’ drills, where we will immediately pull over and throw ourselves to the floor of our car, and huddle in the crash/fetal position, lest we ever have one come our way.

  2. skinnyuz2b says:

    If I ever come to England (?) (not sure where you are) I’ll be forewarned. I’ve enjoyed browsing through your writing. I, too, have locked my keys in the car once too often.

    Since you like funny stories, you might enjoy ‘Squishy Foot and Monkeys’ found in my collection at 1950 Suburban Adventures.

    • kriskkaria says:

      I live in Seattle, where the weather is actually very similar to the weather in England. Thanks for the compliment. I did enjoy your Squishy Foot and Monkeys story and I’m following your blog too.

Leave a Reply

