A lesson about car keys this week from my friend Monica.

“Fun times today…. started out this morning locked out of my car. The husband keeps the key fob in his pocket and somehow locked the car … with my purse and keys inside! Good thing his work isn’t that far away. I was only 30 minutes late to my meeting. Lesson?  Husband is not allowed to carry my keys in his pocket.  Now they’re at home in the drawer.  He also opened up all my windows in my car too which is annoying but at least I can still drive the car!”

Jack and I keep all our keys on a key rack in the kitchen and the spares never leave the rack.  That’s because Jack once locked me out of my car, too, at the worst possible moment.  Helping me load the car for a singing telegram gig, he let the car door shut with my keys, purse and accompanying gig paraphernalia inside.  The spare key laid inside my purse so hence no keys to open the car.  Someone once told him if you break the lock on the trunk you can open it.  I’d like to know who that someone was so I can send them a bill for my broken trunk lock.  Don’t try it, it doesn’t work.

I raced around the house in my Brunnhilde costume (luckily I wear my basic costume to the gig always), burned another CD with music, printed out another gig booking information sheet and looked up directions to the gig again.  Jack located another boombox, (sometimes it’s a good thing he has 5 of everything), we jumped in his car and raced to the gig.

Image

My missing horns didn’t dampen my polka, as all the guests joined in the dance.  I made the gig and everyone is happy!  Let’s polka!

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

7 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    so glad to hear that your horns didn’t infringe on your dancing. great blog )

  2. ericjbaker says:

    Husbands are idiots! Oh wait. I am one.

    I gotta say, I’ve never locked my wife’s keys in her car or mine in mine. Or mine in hers, or hers in mine. However, I have talked in circles and driven her crazy.

Leave a Reply

