Our favorite restaurant, Sonrisa, sent a special Valentine Day dinner invite to us.  We skipped the Margarita Infernos (Margaritas with habanera pepper) and chose the special dinner drink, a champagne cocktail. Then, we dined on tortilla chips, fig salad, scallops, and chocolate cheesecake.  Jack presented me with a card and peanut brittle afterward.  Yeah, peanut brittle isn’t terribly romantic.  Considering in the past I received electric drills and a handheld massager, it’s definitely a step up.   He bought me a present I like and will use without prompting.  I usually need to prompt him on gifts and watch him closely when shopping.

Shopping is an adventure with Jack.  I always give him a task the minute we enter the grocery store.  He locates the seltzer water, plus the pastries and cookies which are on special.  He heads for the pastry section first thing anyway so it’s a natural fit.  When we enter Trader Joe’s, though, he makes a beeline for the coffee and samples.  Only after he’s finished chomping on his sample and slurping his coffee do I send him on his mission to choose dips, chips, and chocolate.  Otherwise, he wanders around looking at whatever catches his eye and I end up with such oddities as kumquats in my cart.  Jack thought they looked interesting so into the cart they went.  The kumquats didn’t agree with him so I ate them.  I hate to waste food even if its kumquats.

Image

I dodged a bullet at the store last week.   I walked over to the freezer with the discounted fish sign only to discover whole frozen fish.

Image

Sorry, I only cook fish ready to jump into the pan and onto the plate.   Jack noticed them too and asked if I’d seen the great price.  I reminded him whole fish need cleaning and that’s not a bargain in my book.   I thought this ended the discussion.  It didn’t.   He stopped by the store without me this week with those fish on his list.  Luckily for me, his list was long.  He ran out of time before he got to the grocery area of store.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

8 responses »

  1. Oh, how I feel your pain. If we could only live on pastries alone….

  2. Best title for a post ever!!!

    I wanted you to know how AMAZING your podcast is!!! LOVED it!! I posted it all over FB and Twitter and wrote a post about it on my own blog to drive people to your podcast site. You did a WONDERFUL JOB!! Thank you so much. Means the world to me… 🙂 XOOXOXOXO

  3. shekh rabbani says:

    Excellent writing. I like this.

Leave a Reply

