I love people watching.  I waited for Jack in the gym lobby and watched the gym members go in and out.  It’s cold for Seattle, in the 30’s, and most everyone bundled up.  Then, a guy in a parka and shorts strolled by.  I figured he’s cold on top and hot on the bottom.  Another man marched by in a heavy coat, sweat pants and sandals with socks.  This guy has hot feet?  The Pacific NW is known for its sandals with socks fashion.  But not when its 34 degrees out, usually when it’s 50 degrees and raining.  One of Jack’s friends wears sandals and socks all the time.  When we met at a mutual friend’s wedding several years ago, the first words out of my mouth were “you’re wearing shoes”.  I thought he didn’t own shoes.

I scheduled time this weekend to tear out my broccoli in the garden.   My gardening information said broccoli likes cold weather, it looked happy so I didn’t tear it out in November.  I thought once we got a lot of frost I’d find it shriveled and take it out.  On Saturday morning, I did find it covered in frost and looking shriveled.  Later in the day, when it warmed up, I came by to rip it out.  No longer shriveled, the green leaves spread out healthy and alive, back from the undead.  Disbelieving, I inspected the plants closely.  Amazed, I discovered a tiny crown, ready to harvest.  Not only wasn’t it dead, it produced broccoli.  I harvested 4 tiny tasty crowns from my zombie broccoli.   I’m leaving my broccoli alone until spring when the bugs hatch.  Then, I need to protect it which just seems a bit odd.Image

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

2 responses »

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

