The votes are in, well, one vote and it’s for the balloon story.

I’m reading on the bus the other day and the guy in the seat in front of me turns around. I’ve never seen him on the bus before.  I have no idea who he is.  He asks, “Do you ride this bus often?  I say, “Yes, every day” and he says, “Are there always balloons on it?”  I say, “What…..no”?  Sure enough, there are 3 balloons, not the plain round ones but a hat and other shapes tied on the overhead hand rails near the front of the bus.  I swear they weren’t there when I got on the bus or maybe I just didn’t notice.

So I wondered if there are other places to find balloons which are unusual.  Turns out there are lots of unusual balloons.    Spongebob Squarepants, as a life size balloon, turns up on a lake with other just boring round balloons.   A giant balloon in the middle of Cincinnati, not something possible today, but in 1861 it was.  The guy wanted his balloon to be part of the war effort.  This summer a model of said balloon is pulled along the mall in Washington DC to commemorate the 1861 stunt.  Animal balloons include a T-Rex, a gigantic spider, a chicken, a frog and fantastic sea creatures. Now, I’m talking life size or bigger, no mamby bamby kid stuff.

 

The hot air balloon designers go all the way with castles, a cow and cartoon monsters. Oh yeah, always wanted to ride under a cow.

 

 

My favorite is wearable balloons including a balloon cage as a top, and a dress which is one big balloon.  I don’t think this will catch on though, at least I hope not.

 

You will not find me anywhere near any of these, because I dislike anything which goes pop suddenly and unexpectedly.  My cousins used to torture me with a jack in the box when I was young.  I’m afraid of heights, too, so no hot air balloon rides for me.

Are you a balloon lover or hater?

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

8 responses »

  1. The balloon dress is amazing! I’m not going in anything that’s a “pop” away from crashing to the ground…nope.

  2. I love how a balloon can float in the air but the pop can bring tears to a child. So I guess my answer is I am a balloon hater it always brings trouble…

  3. dba says:

    Me 2. balloon dress is very awesome… if any balloon will be cruse than what happened? Just a thought. But awesome….

Leave a Reply

