The Smithsonian magazine article says pink flamingos are now chic, trashy chic.  In fact, they’re all the rage.  Rich people display them on the lawn as a tacky example of their wealth.  The original manufacturer can’t make enough.  Curious to see what other fashion or lawn ornament we’d recycled recently, I looked up trashy chic on the Internet.

Turns out it’s cool to look trashy, if you accessorize with chic.  But you have to know how to speak trashy chic.   It’s wearing your underwear on the outside with diamond earrings while carrying a coach bag.  Wait, didn’t Madonna do that in “Desperately Seeking Susan”?   That one came back around soon didn’t it?

Trashy chic includes trash made into fashion.  WebEcoist, http.webecoist.momtastic.com, displays up cycled collections.  Yes, I learned two new words.  We no longer just recycle; we up cycle or down cycle.  Up cycling means you make beautiful trash and down cycling means you make real crap out of the original crap.  Up cycling is packaging turned into colorful dresses, festival tents morphed into rain coats, and wood chips making reptile scale like corsets.  Somehow wearing wood chips doesn’t sound comfortable.  The headdress consisting of water bottles looks like something you’d see on the SciFi channel and not something you’ll catch me wearing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m all for recycling and we recycle lots of stuff in our home.  I own a pin made out of trash by a local artist, too.  That’s about as trashy chic as I get.  How about you?

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

2 responses »

  1. I have made some cool up cycle stuff and some stuff that looks like trash put together with other trash. LOL I have a friend of mine that up cycles for a living check out Larky Park. I love the pink flamingos in like a hipster Irony thing I really like the ones with the bones painted on them, less creepy than this sounds. I loved this post you crack me up.

Leave a Reply

