Ned Kelly’s last words were, “So, it ends like this”.  How wrong he was.  His life ended but his bits didn’t.  His skull ended up in a museum until someone stole it.  His body buried on the prison grounds until the prison got razed then dumped into a mass grave at another Australian prison.  Over 100 years later, it takes longer to find him the second time around than it did to catch him the first time around.

His skull turns up 1st, turned in by a guy only if he’s promised immunity from prosecution.  The skull has N. Kelly in red on it.  When archaeologists finally excavate the mass graves, they find his body without his head.  But wait, the skull isn’t a fit for the body.  So, now they test the DNA.  The skull isn’t his; its Dave, a notorious Australian serial killer.

That conversation between lab assistants must have gone like this.  “Did you put Ned Kelly’s skull on the table over there?”  Yeah, I did.  Wait; there are two skulls on that table, which one is Ned’s?  I dunno know, who cares.  Ok, well, label one N. Kelly at least.”

So, it seems the system Ned Kelly railed against in the late 1800’s in Australia screwed him after death, permanently misplacing his head.  I think he had a valid argument.

It’s never occurred to me to keep bits of my pets or my loved ones.  But Oddities is a hot show, so lots of people find bits and pieces of animals or humans intriguing.  I watched the show recently and its addicting.  But, I’m not planning to shop there any time soon.

Skull dug up in rubble of Seattle

 

 

 

 

 

I plan on cremation and being scattered to the winds.  I don’t want my bits on display in the future, or mixed up with someone else’s bits by a careless lab assistant.

What about you?

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

Leave a Reply

