I fasten the fashionable Styrofoam lined helmet over my visor hat.  The sun beats down relentlessly.  My trusty steeds, JJ and Benny, chafe at the harness, ready to go.  I mount the dark red chariot and we’re off.  Trotting along down the middle of the street, I shout “left”.  JJ and Benny deftly bear left.  I fight for control as the street tries to wrest the chariot away from me.

We smoothly execute a right turn.  Emboldened, I head for the wilderness trail. Negotiating the tricky entrance, we set off down the trail.  JJ in the lead, Benny only a dog length behind and me holding the reins high.  Bikers whiz by us, JJ moving aside as they approach.  As they pass, the bikers smile and say “cute dogs”, “what fun”, or “can I catch a ride”.  We sail along until Benny decides to take a dump and forgets to signal.  I apply the brake quickly, almost catapulting over the handlebars.  Scraped up but not bleeding, I tidy up after Benny. Then, we’re off again, this time JJ bringing up the rear till he gets his second wind.

As we exit the wilderness trail, I pedal as hard as I can for one block.  Then, we walk up the steep hill to home, as the chariot only has one gear.  I’m not suicidal.

The Charioteer and her steeds

Do you bike with your dogs?   I’d love to hear your story.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

2 responses »

  1. Love your bike and your puppers!

Leave a Reply

