I’m a very patient person.  I generally never honk my horn at other drivers even when they do really stupid things.

The other night we’re on our way home for dinner at a friend’s.  It’s late at night for me who has to get up early.  We’re only 2 minutes away from home as I pull up behind a Subaru at a red light.  The light turns green but the Subaru sits there.  It seems to have a single occupant and their dog.  However, it could be their kid.  Kids with lots of tousled hair and medium sized shaggy dogs in the back seat tend to look the same until you get really close.  5 seconds go by and the Subaru is still sitting there.  Another few seconds go by, there is no oncoming traffic and the Subaru is at a standstill.  I’m never going to get home at this rate.

So, I honk my horn.  The Subaru finally starts up getting through the green light.  As the driver turns left onto a side street in a few blocks, they give me the finger.  Now, it’s my fault I honked my horn because they weren’t paying attention holding up my progress home.

Curious as to the origins of “the finger”, I looked it up on the Internet.  The definitive history is found at http://www.ooze.com/finger.   I’m truly amazed this insult is over 2500 years old.  The first official “bird” originated with Aristophanes, famous Greek playwright.  When the Romans conquered the Greeks, they adopted this gesture, no questions asked.  The Church frowned upon “the bird”, so it lurked underground for several centuries until the 19th.  Photography provided the perfect canvas and it popped up again in 1886 with Old Hoss in a baseball picture.  That makes sense, sports and the finger, because it’s a guy’s anatomy gesture.  Since I’m a woman that’s probably why I think “whatever” when someone gives it to me.    It’s pretty much a male put down.   That and I physically can’t give someone the finger.  My fingers don’t want to go there.

Did you get “the finger” recently?  I’d love to hear your story.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

3 responses »

  1. No, but I did just an out loud FU today in the grocery store of all places. This man was wearing a shirt that read “Obama is an Idiot and if you voted for him so are you” This coming out of a cartooned Uncle Sam pointing at me. So, I just said “wow that’s kind of offense” and low and behold…FU.

    • kriskkaria says:

      Thanks for the great story about getting an FU in a grocery store of all places. Considering the guy wore a shirt like that in public, seems he’s looking to issue forth a loud FU anyplace, anytime. You were brave to say anything at all to him.

Leave a Reply

