I visited the dentist last week.  My dentist is in downtown Seattle so he validates parking at Pacific Place.  It’s an upscale mall in the heart of downtown.  After my teeth cleaning, I decided to shop for clothes at Pacific Place.  Hey, I’m not often downtown with parking mostly paid so why not.

Finding clothes at upscale boutiques if you’re 50 something is a challenge.  Especially if you’re like me and shop the sale racks.  I feel out of place but I’m not ready to dress all in polyester or look really frumpy; just a little frumpy.

I scanned stores as I walked by for sales and colors displayed.  I quickly eliminated stores with no sales or displaying mostly red/yellow/orange clothes.  Since I have red hair and blue eyes, I don’t go near those colors.  I did say a little frumpy, not totally whacked.  I wear blues, greens and browns.

The Guess store looked promising so I wandered in.  The sales person told me they had extra discounts on sale items.  So I looked over the sales racks and discovered a few things in my size.  I’m not exactly petite.  I gazed longingly at the long tight sweater dresses.  25 years ago I’d snap them up but not anymore.  I’d look ridiculous in one now, not sexy.  Don’t you hate it when designs you love go out of style and by the time they come back into style, you’re too old to wear them?  A brown sweater fit perfectly and the washing instructions were reasonable so I bought it.

I had more money to spend but not enough energy.  Shopping is exhausting.  My friend Rachel says I’m not supposed to go shopping AFTER something; that’s the problem.  I can’t conceive of going out just to shop for clothes and the like.  It’s not very efficient.  I even combine grocery shopping with other activities, like going to the gym.

Do you feel out of place at boutiques because you’re older or the current style and your body just don’t go together?  I’d love your comments.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

Leave a Reply

