Jack’s friends say I’m the most patient woman they’ve ever met.  That’s because Jack is a DIY guy.  He insists on doing the electrical, plumbing, shed building and other home maintenance himself.  Unfortunately, things don’t always work out like he says they will.

I lived without hot water for 9 months.  Good thing I belong to a gym where I can get a hot shower.  Jack purchased one of the hot water on demand units on eBay.  He changed the plumbing around for it. The electrical switch box needs replacing so he had to figure a way to hook directly into the power box because the old switch box running the house wouldn’t handle the unit.  It still uses glass fuses.    If we forget turn the toaster oven and microwave on at the same time it blows that circuit.  After 9 months, he finally completed the new plumbing and wiring, but I still can’t get a hot bath.  A 9 minute hot shower is possible and if you turn the sink faucet on at just the right flow you get hot water.  I haven’t timed the hot water flow for the faucets.  Basically, either the unit doesn’t work right or he didn’t hook it up right.  On those days I just can’t get to the gym, I haul water heated in kettles multiple times up the stairs to the bath.  Occasionally, I get a trickle of hot water from the bath faucet, but its truly a trickle, not enough to fill the bath.

Luckily for me, his mother is visiting and she complained about the shower.   This prompts Jack to buy a regular water heater on sale which he says he’s going to install so he can fix the hot water on demand unit himself.   Its been 3 weeks and he hasn’t started the project yet.  I’m not holding my breath.  It took a week to just pick up the new water heater as he didn’t want to pay for delivery so he had to borrow his brother’s SUV.

Do you live with a DIY guy or gal who doesn’t always get it done?  Send me your stories; I’d love to hear them.

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

Leave a Reply

