JJ doesn’t particularly like car trips but he likes being left alone even less.   Jack, Benny and I think the Friday Harbor trip is awesome.  JJ likes the ferry and the walk along the beach.  The freeway road noise not so much.  He crawls into the back window well, which is not easy when you weigh 55 pounds.

The rain moves in the next day.  I need to plant the tomatoes and strawberries I purchased at the garden center earlier in the day.   I march out into the rain; Benny follows and quickly resembles a drowned rat.  Benny’s duty is to protect me so he finds a place under a tree and sits, watching over me.  JJ sits at the door with an “I don’t want to be out in that” look.   Jack soon joins me and we proceed to plant the tomatoes and strawberries in their upside down bags.  It continues to pour rain and the potting soil clings to my coat.  My gloves are soaked.  Jack and I close up the fence around the garden and collapsed tent and strip off our wet clothes once we’re back in the house.

I prepare dinner for JJ and Benny.  Benny comes running, but not JJ.  Jack and I scour the house for JJ but he’s nowhere to be found.  I run outside the front door and call.  No JJ.  Jack calls out the back door, no JJ.   Where could he be?  Neither of us noticed him in the backyard while we worked.  Jack takes a flashlight and goes back out to the collapsed tent.   It’s easy for the dogs to crawl under it and some areas have 4 ft of headroom.  JJ peers at him from a far corner.   He’s stuck, having stuffed himself into a small crevice among the junk.  Jack pries him out and JJ gets his dinner.

The next day, we arrive home to this.

 

Image

It’s a good thing dogs don’t drink.

 

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

4 responses »

  1. ksbeth says:

    and believe me they would, if they had thumbs.

  2. skinnyuz2b says:

    Poor JJ. I’m sure he has forgiven everyone.

Leave a Reply

