A witch adorns a pole in our neighborhood, like she’s flown into it.  Cute I chuckled when the boys and I passed by in October.  Our neighborhood gets into Halloween.  But, she’s still there and it’s almost Christmas.  Did they forget to take her down or its just Halloween all year round for them?  In 1000 years, an archaeologist is going to dig in our neighborhood, and proclaim us to be Halloween worshipers who celebrated the holiday all year long.

I hadn’t finished pondering the witch, when the boys and I passed a house with a dog out front.  The dog thought about barking but his owner shushed him.  That was nice of the owner, who wandered around after the dog with no shirt on sporting several nice tattoos.    I admired his muscled, ripped body but pondered his sanity.  The temperature is barely 40 degrees.    He must be either a polar bear plunge enthusiast, have hot flashes or be related to my broccoli.

I walked out to the garden today expecting to cut down my gigantic broccoli plants.   The temperature plunged to below 30 degrees and stayed there for a few weeks.  That’s cold for Seattle.  I figured that did in my broccoli and yes it did finally kill a few.  Well, it killed the stalks.  Most are still firmly rooted so I left them in the ground.  I harvested several nice tiny heads, too.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  It’s January and I’m harvesting broccoli.  Kris’ zombie broccoli, it just lives on and on.

Image

About kriskkaria

Actress, comedian, voice actor and singer, I voice a weekly podcast called Does This Happen to You. Funny compendium of your day's journey.

7 responses »

  1. Something tells me that the Witch deliberately ran into that pole! The broccoli in January is crazy, but we were still getting tomatoes in November….what the hell is going on in the veggie world?

    • kriskkaria says:

      Wow, tomatoes in November, that’s quite a stretch. I think my tomatoes petered out in mid October and it wasn’t that cold yet. Broccoli is supposed to like cold weather, but freezing weather?. We’re getting cold again tonight but then its going to get wet. and be typical Seattle weather. I may be harvesting again soon!

  2. ksbeth says:

    i LOVE the title of this and every word as well. perhaps the witch is frozen to the pole by her tongue and you can recruit the shirtless guy to do your winter harvesting for you while you admire him from inside your warm house? just a thought -

  3. skinnyuz2b says:

    You brought back memories of my parents cutting mounds of broccoli stalks when a freeze was predicted. They sat on the linoleum in the middle of our living room until the heads were harvested. I LOVE broccoli!
    And I laughed when you compared the shirtless guy to broccoli.

Leave a Reply

